Tommy’s Express Car Wash now open

 

Yes, I was a bit hesitant to take the plunge, so to speak, since I had mixed feelings about this new establishment. You may recall that the old car wash closed quite some time ago and this one has been “under construction” for what seems like a very long time… and has been a source of friction to the neighborhood due to the amount of work and associated noise coming out of that corner of our neighborhood. During this car wash hiatus, I was really appreciating just how quiet my street (W 25th) could be. That is, when there is no car wash AND no school in session, but that’s another story.

In any case, I was pleasantly surprised about the whole experience. The noise, that I thought would thunder-through the neighborhood upon the opening of the new car wash,  was really a non-issue as the whole thing is self-enclosed except for the vacuums. But, I do live in the middle of the block, away from most of the noise. I am interested to hear how the neighbors, living right  next to it, feel about the whole thing.

This is a self-service car wash as opposed to the previous incarnation which was a hand wash type of business. So those jobs all just disappeared, sorry to say. But it does keep the cost of operating down and translates into a $7 basic car wash and free vacuuming, not a bad deal at all. In fact, I challenge anyone to find a better deal anywhere close by.

As far as the actual experience, it is a bit tricky to get your left front tire into the small track when pulling in. There is a mirror directly in front and above you to help with that. The other thing is that you need to have the car in neutral for it to engage properly. But after that “wonky” entrance, the rest was a breeze. Speaking of breezes, my only issue so far is the lackluster dryer. It leaves quite a bit of water on your car. I brought that up to the friendly attendant and she said “not to worry” they use spot-free additives to the soft water. The car should dry spotless, so she says.

Now, I am hoping that this does not cause any traffic issues during their busy time and all has been smooth, as far as I am concerned, these last 2 days. Hoping for the best.

Oh, and they are open until 8 pm every day.

 

– By Joseph Martinez

Leave a comment