Attic insulation, weatherization, saving energy

As I write this, ‘this old house’ (built in 1939) is getting it’s first BIG energy-saving product, Johns Manville “Climate Pro” B780 fiberglass insulation (blown-in).

From blowing machine in truck, a long hose went into my attic, installing Climate Pro insulation.

From blowing machine in truck, a long hose went into my attic, installing Climate Pro insulation.

For weatherization, my house has thus far received:
* switching out most incandescent light bulbs for warm-white compact fluorescents;
* rubber gaskets around the switches and outlets
* low-flow showerhead
* water heater blanket
* two exhaust fans in the attic (to remove hot air)
* two ceiling fans in the bedrooms
* window caulking
* door weatherstripping
* faucet aerators
* and now, fabulous ceiling insulation!

There’s still much to do, to try to keep my south & west facing home cool in the summertime. I’m going to look into plantings, awnings, temporary exterior shades made out of sun fabric. . . also, maybe another ceiling fan. And for those incredibly sweltering hot days, I’ll probably get a couple of ‘energy star’ window air-conditioners for the bedrooms.

UPDATE JULY 13, 2009 – I am thrilled to report that the attic insulation has thus far kept my house a comfortable  72-75 and now that it’s hotter, about 82 today,  the house is still a comfortable 79 inside.  As my house is L-shaped and gets the brunt of the south and west facing sun,  my main goal this summer is to find a way to inexpensively shade my front courtyard!!!

Text and photo by Deni Mosser

2 responses to this post.

  1. Great site!! Will definitely visit again=)

    Reply

  2. Super internet site:) Hope to come back:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

